What We're Reading Spring 2019

A moving immigrant story, a hot new political romance, and a collection of horror short stories.

By the Celadon Team

Deb Futter
Co-Publisher and SVP

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie

A friend recommended it, and, boy, was she right. It is such a moving immigrant story in which love divides a family and the final scene is shattering.

I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell

I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O’Farrell

I have read every one of O’Farrell’s novels, and in this memoir, her same insightful, readable voice is showcased. It really shows the fragility of life.

Walk, don’t run, to read both!

Rachel Chou
Rachel Chou
Associate Publisher and VP

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia OwensWhere the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

My book club read this book and absolutely loved it. The main character Kya is so well written that you root for her from chapter one. The setting of the marsh becomes a main character as well, and Ms. Owens’ ability to bring the reader into the active, alive world of the creatures and environment is breathtaking. Fans of All the Light We Cannot See and A Gentleman in Moscow would love this book!

Alexis Neuville
Alexis Neuville
Marketing & Publicity Assistant

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuistonRed, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

I was able to get my hands on an early copy of this one and instantly had to pick it up. I’ve seen so many people in the young adult community rave about this adult book, and it has amazing ratings on Goodreads. I love the political atmosphere and snarky characters (the son of the POTUS and the prince of England!). If you like sweet, contemporary novels and male/male romance, this is for you!

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins ReidDaisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

After seeing all the buzz around this book, I knew I had to pick up a copy! So many of my friends loved Taylor Jenkins Reid’s last book, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. I honestly didn’t know much about this one, but once I saw how it was written, I was hooked!

Jaime Noven
Jaime Noven
Marketing Manager

The Year’s Best Horror Stories XIV edited by Karl Edward WagnerThe Year’s Best Horror Stories XIV edited by Karl Edward Wagner

I recently finished reading The Year’s Best Horror Stories XIV. If you haven’t read a short story lately, I recommend putting a short story collection next in your TBR pile, no matter what the genre (some suggestions here). It’s an under-appreciated format. I picked up this book because it was published the year I was born. What was the scariest story written the year you were born? Maybe you can go to the library and find out; this annual book series ran from 1972 to 1994.

I’m a Joke and So Are You by Robin InceI'm a Joke and So Are You

I’m currently reading I’m a Joke and So Are You by Robin Ince. It’s a nonfiction book about the psychology and neurology of comedians. The image of the sad clown was popular again when Robin Williams died in 2014, and this book seeks to discover whether there is any truth in that cliché or whether it’s largely a myth. I’d recommend it to anyone interested in the brain and psychology, especially readers of Dean Burnett’s books. I’d also recommend listening to the BBC radio documentary Tears of a Clown, presented by the author. If you like that, you’ll like this book.

Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search