Celadon White logo

Gift Ideas for Book Lovers

Stellar book gifts for every reader on your list.

We’re celebrating the spirit of the season with the best book gift ideas. Whether your bookish loved one can’t get enough thrillers or enjoys cozying up with a touching memoir, you’re sure to find the perfect present in the remarkable reads below.

By Joanne Camas

Number One Is Walking: My Life in the Movies and Other Diversions

By Steve Martin and Harry Bliss

For the quintessential Steve Martin fan...

Steve Martin has never written about his career in the movies before. In Number One Is Walking, he details his 40 years in the movie biz, as well as his stand-up comedy, banjo playing, writing, and cartooning, all with his unparalleled wit. Martin shares anecdotes from the sets of his beloved films—Father of the Bride, Roxanne, The Jerk, Three Amigos, and many more—sharing exploits with the likes of Paul McCartney, Diane Keaton, Robin Williams, and Chevy Chase.

With gorgeously illustrated cartoons and single-panel “diversions” in Steve and New Yorker cartoonist Harry Bliss’s signature style, Number One Is Walking is full of the everyday moments that make up a movie star’s life. The perfect gift from the team who brought you the #1 New York Times bestseller A Wealth of Pigeons.

On sale November 15.

Unmasked: My Life Solving America's Cold Cases

By Paul Holes

For the book lover who binges true crime podcasts…

In Unmasked, famed cold case detective Paul Holes takes us through his memories of a storied career and provides an insider account of some of the most notorious cases in contemporary American history, including the hunt for the Golden State Killer, Laci Peterson’s murder, and Jaycee Dugard’s kidnapping. This is also a revelatory profile of a complex man and what makes him tick: the drive to find closure for victims and their loved ones, the inability to walk away from a challenge—even at the expense of his own happiness.

The Maidens

By Alex Michaelides

For the book lover who devoured The Silent Patient...

You know Alex Michaelides as the bestselling author of the blockbuster psychological thriller, The Silent Patient. His newest tale of suspense interweaves dark academia and Greek myth with a pulse-pounding murder mystery, making it the perfect book gift for the thriller connoisseur in your life. The Maidens takes place in the shadowy corridors of Cambridge University. When a member of an all-female secret society of students is murdered, Cambridge alumna Mariana Andros is convinced she knows who did the deed: Edward Fosca, Cambridge’s charismatic Greek tragedy professor. But why would this beloved academic murder one of his students? Is Andros on the right track, or is she coming undone? Danger lurks around every corner in this expertly crafted, unputdownable narrative.

The Plot

By Jean Hanff Korelitz

For the book lover who binge-watched HBO’s The Undoing...

Obsessed with the latest whodunnit limited series? We’ve got just the gift for you. Jean Hanff Korelitz is the author of You Should Have Known, which served as the inspiration for HBO’s The Undoing, starring Nicole Kidman and Hugh Grant. Her latest literary thriller is perfect for fans of delicious shocks and twists. The Plot centers on college professor Jacob Finch Bonner, a former author-to-watch who’s now treading water teaching at a third-rate MFA program. When Evan Parker, Bonner’s cocky student, brags about the plot to his novel-in-progress, Bonner’s heart sinks; he knows the book is bound for the bestseller list. But when Parker dies suddenly, Bonner decides to claim the young man’s narrative as his own. After all, who’d know? Bonner’s plan works like a charm: His new work of fiction is heralded as a masterpiece by readers and critics alike. But someone out there knows Bonner’s dirty secret, and they’re threatening to share it with the world. Horror maestro Stephen King recommends Korelitz’s latest page-turner, hailing it as “insanely readable.” We certainly agree, Mr. King.

The Kingdoms of Savannah

By George Dawes Green

For the book lover looking for a chilling mystery to unravel…

"In his first novel in more than a decade, Edgar Award winner Green delivers a gripping and expertly researched Southern literary thriller that is anything but cozy. Green’s novels may not come around often, but when they do, they hit hard and stay with you long after the end.” — Kirkus, Starred Review

Savannah may appear to be “some town out of a fable,” with its vine flowers, turreted mansions, and ghost tours that romanticize the city’s history. But look deeper and you’ll uncover secrets, past and present, that tell a more sinister tale. It’s the story at the heart of George Dawes Green’s chilling novel, The Kingdoms of Savannah.

Bad City: Peril and Power in the City of Angels

By Paul Pringle

For the book lover who raved about Catch and Kill

In the vein of Bad Blood and Spotlight comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from Pulitzer-prize winning journalist Paul Pringle, who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds.

“The tip that initially made its way to The Los Angeles Times newsroom was as salacious as it gets… [Bad City] revisits the paper’s relentless reporting that followed, which uncovered an explosive scandal involving sex abuse and powerful men preying on the disadvantaged. If the book were just about that, it would already be compelling enough for news junkies who appreciate how the sausage gets made. Pringle’s book, though, adds newsroom acrimony as a layer on top of that story.” –Forbes

HRH: So Many Thoughts on Royal Style

By Elizabeth Holmes

For the royal watcher and fashion lover…

In this New York Times bestseller, style journalist Elizabeth Holmes celebrates the fashion style of four iconic royals: Queen Elizabeth II, Princess Diana, Kate Middleton, and Meghan Markel. Each woman is known for her distinctive sartorial choices, and gorgeous photos accompany Holmes’s writing to bring their majestic styles to vivid life. And yet, HRH is a feast for the mind as well as the eyes, offering a rich history of England’s royal family and a behind-the-scenes glimpse at royal living, courtesy of royal stylists, friends, and fashion photographers.

Finding Freedom by Erin French

Finding Freedom: A Cook’s Story; Remaking a Life from Scratch

By Erin French

For the book lover who is a foodie...

Erin French is the founder and chef of The Lost Kitchen, a renowned restaurant in the small town of Freedom, Maine that attracts diners from around the world. She recently made a delectable leap to TV via The Lost Kitchen on Discovery+ – and fans will love learning more about her culinary journey in this life-affirming memoir. French overcame great hardship to find happiness in her hometown, including struggles with addiction, unemployment, an abusive relationship, and raising a child as a single parent. In Finding Freedom, she opens up about her issues and how she tackled them, chronicles her lifelong passion for food, and shares the strength and peace she draws from her family, her restaurant, and the beauty of small-town life. It’s an inspiring read.

The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times

By Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams

For the book lover who enjoys thought-provoking stories that are uplifting and give hope...

Optimism and activism should be rewarded. And what better gift than a stirring guidebook for our trying times by a world-renowned naturalist? Jane Goodall delivers with her latest release. The Book of Hope is presented as a wide-ranging conversation between Goodall and co-author Douglas Abrams. Throughout, Goodall shares what she’s learned during her remarkable career as a naturalist, conservationist, and impassioned advocate for the planet. As the book’s title suggests, Goodall believes there’s hope for our future if we act now. Yet she’s also a realist who doesn’t shy away from the very real climate crisis we’re facing. Readers will find both comfort and the inspiration to act in Goodall’s powerful narrative, discovering fresh sources of hope and new reasons to get involved.

Book stand

Bamboo Book Stand

"When I had wrist surgery, a friend sent this book stand because she knew it would be hard for me to read one-handed. It was so thoughtful and appreciated. And now that I’m all healed, it’s great for propping open cookbooks!" –Randi Kramer, Assistant Editor

NOVELOGUES: 100 Epic Reads

"If you need help thinking of a book bucket list, this is a wonderful gift that always inspires me to choose my next book. I always look forward to scratching out the books and seeing my progress!" –Clay Smith, Designer and Studio Coordinator

Whispered Myths

"Imaginary Authors" Perfume

"One of my favorite scents is from a perfumery out of Portland, Oregon, called Imaginary Authors. It was started with the idea that a fragrance could be as inspirational as a good book, complete with layered narratives and vivid imagery. Each fragrance follows a compelling storyline that you can curl up with, generate conversation with friends, and take with you, to return to again and again for a transcendent experience. My favorite is called Whispered Myths." –Heather Orlando-Jerabek, Associate Publicist

Share with your friends

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest

Related Articles

For many reasons, listening is far more valuable than talking. You're Not Listening by Kate Murphy offers guidance for connecting with family during the holidays.
When you press play on these thrilling audiobooks, you’ll find it impossible to tear yourself away.
The best book podcasts are entertaining and informative, and they connect you with fellow book lovers from around the world.

Connect with

Celadon

Sign up for our newsletter to see book giveaways, news, and more!